WET SHAVING TIMES

Home » Product Reviews » Hookah Lounge – Initial Impressions and Thoughts

Hookah Lounge – Initial Impressions and Thoughts

This week, I got the pleasure of opening up a box from The Shaving Shop/Peter Charkalis and in it was a soap I had ordered the previous week named Hookah Lounge.  The story about the idea for this soap evidently is that Peter, while in Los Angeles on business, met with Mahsam Raza of DUA Fragrances at a Hookah place in Beverly Hills.

The scent profile of Hookah Lounge is Bergamot, Amber, Oud, Sandalwood, Rosewood, Cade wood & Tobacco. Peter’s description from the website is that Hookah Lounge is a “smokey, spicy, mysterious scent that is absolutely superb.”  It was commissioned to Shannon Soaps a couple of months ago and Peter’s right, this scent is amazing.

A few months ago, I had mentioned to Douglas Smythe that I was looking for a New Age shop smelling soap, one that would basically give the aroma of walking into a place that sold crystals, incense, stuff like that.  I think I had even asked about a Nag Champa scent – and I think Ginger’s Garden said they either had one or they could develop it.

Well, again, when I opened this well-packaged soap from The Shaving Shop, I suddenly found that scent right there in that jar.  I had no idea the ingredients mentioned above would create this particular scent.  It’s a very exotic, mesmerizing scent, and I am so glad I got it.

I first tried a Hookah pipe while dating my wife Melanie (she is of Lebanese descent) and it was kind of what we now joke as a small test by the male cousins of the family.  When they asked me if I’d try it, I threw caution to the wind and said, “OK!”  We went outside and I think the tobacco was more of a cherry or apple flavor, I can’t remember.  But it was sure different.  I actually have a Hookah pipe but rarely break it out.  It’s not that I don’t like it, I just am not a smoker. It’s more of a party thing anyway in my book.

With winter approaching, I think warmer scented soaps, so this particular soap, I think is perfect for the season.  I don’t have the aftershave, but I think it matches up perfectly with some aftershaves I already have – although I can’t wait to get the perfectly matched one.  Examples of which aftershave to use with it would be say, the PAA Tamanu Noir II – which I commented that as a combo, it made me smell like an Opium Den from the 20’s as I imagine it would have smelled like…  which then reminded me of a favorite movie of mine that starred Bill Murray called “The Razor’s Edge.” These scents that are coming out then are not only connecting with one imagined scent, they are compacted into scenes from movies.  I love this about the soaps being thought up and created now… they are appealing to me for many different reasons, not just the maker, but as a form of nostalgia.

Do I recommend The Hookah Lounge soap?  YES!  I love this weird scent.  Now, Melanie isn’t too fond of it – she would much rather have me wear The Shaving Shop’s Hedonisme every day of the week, but you know how we wet shavers are, we must have that variety!

Go order it today here!

15384466_1748543178800060_7756330111696074773_o

