WET SHAVING TIMES

Home » announcements » A Wet Shaving Reject’s Moment of Truth

A Wet Shaving Reject’s Moment of Truth

11407089_10153014829697499_1025915231874154814_n

I’ve been behind the curtain a bit, watching a lot go down in the Wet Shaving Community. Quite a bit has happened, including controversies, issues, debates, attacks, etc.

When a fan of CDB called me a Wet Shaving Reject as he defended him from my suggestions, it hit me.  Do I continue with this blog or not?  Do I participate in the Wet Shaving Community or not?  How much of this shit will I put up with when my intentions are good and honest?  I knew this moment of truth was coming for me as I could feel it deep within my psyche. Do I continue supporting it all or do I walk away?

I really debated this over the last few days, and here is what it boils down to for me:

I am interested in doing more informative articles than rants, but it seems to be the rants are winning.

I don’t buy a lot of product now because I can’t afford it.  Additionally, my favorite soaps in my rotation are Martin de Candre and the Trump soap that was given to me by Razor and Brush.  I love the simplicity and the reliability of the MdC and the scent of the Trump soap.

I try not to get involved in the Wet Shaving Theatrical Debates because it’s pointless. My latest attempt to put in my two cents about an issue that Christopher Bailey of ilather.com participated only turned into an argument about how I was a reject of the community and I should just shut up.

It’s becoming evident to me that there are camps within the Community:

The Jokesters who make fun of each other and there is this forgiveness that takes place. The example of this was when Ray Pope was reported for a post within Razor and Brush and he was later brought back into the group.  I totally agreed with that decision for sure.

There are also those who aren’t a part of that camp.

People like Sharpologist (also known as Mantic59) who just does his thing and does it well.  He doesn’t give two craps about what people would say about him, he’s in it for the business of it.  He doesn’t make videos about how he’s a victim of a naysayer or someone who doesn’t agree with him.  He’s an example to us all and that was my end goal here with this blog.

I am much more interested in this mentality than other Influencers who get really involved in the Wet Shaving Political and Social Debates that seem to pop up consistently and without remorse. It’s become its own parody.

I don’t want to give a crap about what people say regarding me and my personal relations to the Wet Shaving Community.  I don’t want to give a rat’s ass if I’m not consulted about my opinions on whether the latest PAA soap is the next great one or the differences (however minor) between a Club soap from a Standard classic like Catie’s Bubbles Le Piment de la Vie.

I started this blog because I really like the camaraderie of the Wet Shaving Community, the Artisans and the Influencers.  And it is getting to the point where it just might turn into a group of jerks if it keeps going the way it’s going.  I’m not saying it is now, but it sure has a long way to go regarding mutual respect of one another.

Douglas Smythe of PAA  once told me that I was demonizing him and he would no longer be my friend because of it. So cool, ok, an Artisan got real with me when I was literally just separating myself from his need to control my reaction to someone else who he was on the outs with.

CDB once told me that there was no bad blood between us yet he defriended me on Facebook and is defended by total strangers for “doing the right thing,” when it probably isn’t his business in the first place.  On the other hand, who am I to even try to suggest anything different to him?

Ray Pope talked about the Chicago Wet Shaver’s Meetup and how there’s a “secret meetup” that I won’t be invited to.

The more I think about this shit the more absurd it gets.

I’ll just stick to the basics for now.  I’ve got a lot more going on than paying attention to a bunch of people who are standing for paying out the nose for products that literally are coming out every week.

It’s a “machine” that will continue on with or without my opinions or commentary. The best I can do is wish it well and in the meantime, I will continue to work on my Wet Shaving Based story called “Wet Shaving Times.”

Thanks all.  I’ll pop in from time to time, but this truly is more than just a sabbatical.  It’s a shift of priorities to other interests with exception to the Story, which will be second in priority to my lyric writing.

This is not goodbye, this is a “have fun” and “I’ll see you in the funny papers.”

Shave on, guys.  Enjoy the drama. Meanwhile, I’ll just shave and remember why I got into this hobby in the first place: Better shaves.

See you at the Chicago Meetup. 🙂

