WET SHAVING TIMES

Home » announcements » Wet Shaving Times Turns Two!

Wet Shaving Times Turns Two!

Yesterday, I didn’t realize something important regarding this blog.

I’ve been doing this for two years now.  It’s really funny because there is something CDB wrote to me yesterday that said, “Do the work,” and what doesn’t make sense with that comment was that he must have missed my work because I have been doing it.  He just has a different opinion of what “The Work” is.  He is, to be totally honest, probably one of the hardest working Video Bloggers and Facebook Admins out there. So props to you, CDB of iLather.com. Keep working and don’t worry about what I do. You do your thing, I’ll do mine. I’ll quote you here – “It’s my journey.”

I had some interesting responses regarding yesterday’s blog post including a long response from CDB.  I’ve quoted it a little bit above, but for the most part, it was a bit on the aggressive side. “Quit hitching your wagons to other folks,” Christopher countered.

And yes, I have a strong position and response to this ignorant statement by him.

What is the thing that we all have in common when it comes to being part of the Wet Shaving Community?  What links us all?

The Artisans.

The Products and Services.  

The Vendors.

So when you say that I’m hitching my wagon to others, what I see is you’ve basically done it yourself, Christopher Bailey.  So, we have all been in this together when it comes to blogging about the Wet Shaving Community.

That’s the catch. I chose this way of blogging about it because of my preference and style.  I have dabbled in a lot of different approaches regarding the blog, but it seems to be the most fun for me just to hang out and write exactly what I want to write as opposed to being controlled by the market and writing about every product I can get my hands on.

I think the post he did a while back had an impact on me in a good way when he alluded to his journey being all about getting expensive items as opposed to less expensive Artisan products and he concluded that he had some remorse for those purchases. This was around the time the Fine Accoutrements soaps came out.  I recognized something in that behavior that made me think about it with my post called  “What Happens When You Follow The Money to Get To The Truth.”

Like it or not, my blog did not go completely into the “Top Ten Latest New Artisan Soaps or Shave of the Day, Reviews of my vast collection of products and slipping in Wet Shaving Commentary whenever I want to, discussing whatever I want, defending whoever I want,” blah, blah, blah.  My intentions in blogging are to capture my opinions about very specific things that are going on within the Wet Shaving Community, and if you’re an active part of it, it’s likely you might be mentioned.  That’s just the way it is.

It’s the way I’ve seen countless Wet Shaving Video Bloggers (ie Wet Tubers which seems to be an unpopular term now) do their blogs and I somehow got singled out for something that is quite common so I stand behind my posts.

Onward from the Blog to Action Within My Own Life As A Writer

As I reviewed through my old Wet Shaving Times posts, I saw an evolution of ideas.  Sure, I got off track but I kept trudging along, kept striving through the articles, the Artisan Profiles, the Product Reviews, the Wet Shaving Community Commentary.

I’ve thought I could develop an online marketplace, do shaving videos, maybe even dabble in a Wet Shaving Times podcast, but then it hit me to do something totally different.

I decided to do Spotify Playlists.  I decided to go outside the box and wrote a post that involved a Journalist during the Black Sox Scandal.

I’ve been thinking about that story ever since. So that is what I’m working on, but it won’t be about that particular time period, I am actually going to go a whole different direction with it.

While everything about the Wet Shaving and Personal Care industry is fantastic, one thing is for certain, I spent a whole hell of a lot of time and energy into promoting the Grooming Industry.

It totally kick-started my thought that I could continue to write and for that, I am so thankful and grateful.

So I will.  I’ve never written this kind of story before but I’m willing to give it a shot because I believe in it. I believe in it just like I believe in the Artisans, Soaps, Aftershaves, Razors, and Brushes that I’ve been excited about for more than just the two years that I’ve been writing about them.

True, I also have my lyric writing, which I’ve been doing since High School. The songwriting is the priority because I’ve got a personal goal to get that all going fully during my transition from BMI to ASCAP as a Writer Member/Publisher.

Closing Thoughts

It’s a new chapter for Wet Shaving Times.  Two years later, I know I worked hard on this blog and I enjoyed writing about the Wet Shaving Community.  But during those two years, as I’ve mentioned in my previous post, I’ve learned something major in life and I want to share that here.

While I enjoy the Community, one thing is for certain.  I know that I love writing more. To limit myself to writing or doing videos JUST about the Community is ultimately NOT my passion in life today like it has become for many of you.

THAT was what I was looking to figure out when I started this blog. Was I going to be as into it as I thought?  How would I do with it all?  I sure found out. 🙂

Dad (who as you all know passed away last year) taught me to follow my dreams and passion in life.  So I’m continuing on that journey and part of what I’ve learned within the Wet Shaving Community actually is included in those dreams.

Enjoy the hobby and the camaraderie.  Enjoy spending your hard-earned cash on the latest products.  I’ll continue to do that as well, just not as much as some of you.

Thanks, all.  I’ll keep you posted here.  You will soon see some major changes to this website that I hope you will enjoy.  If you don’t, well, that’s cool too.

 

 

1 Comment

Comments are closed.

